e-Sambad

Govt. celebrates two years' achievement: folders, booklet released

Status of a state cannot be gauged by its physical size, but by its characteristics. Tripura has proved this fact, stated the chief minister Biplab Kumar Deb yesterday at Rabindra Shatabarshiki Bhavan while addressing the audience at the celebration ceremony of two years achievement of the present government. He said, the amount of development materialized by the present government in Tripura during last two years has never been recorded so in the past. Apart from giving a transparent and corruption-free government it is working towards building a self-sufficient Tripura.

The chief minister said, as a part of bringing in transparency the government has implemented e-tendering, e-challan, e-Vahan, e-Sadan, e-PDS etc. systems. Within a short span of time the government, apart from introducing NCERT syllabus, 23 new initiatives have been taken for quality upgradation of education. The government is also encouraging students to aspire for IAS, IPS etc. with several facilities. Academic year has been re-scheduled and Bachhar Bachao scheme has been launched to give another chance to the students obtaining compartmental. At the same time, giving statistics the chief minister said, during the last two years per capita income in the state has increased from Rs. 1.00 lakh to Rs. 1.27 lakh. MGNREGA is on the one hand giving livelihood to people on the other it is being used to build infrastructure. Around March, 2018, the number of unemployed youths in the state was around 7 lakh, now it has been brought down to around 1.76 lakh, because a section of the unemployed has turned to be job creators.



Pic. by Mrinal Kanti Bhowmik, Sr. Photographer

Speaking on the occasion the speaker of the Tripura Legislative Assembly Rebati Mohan Das said, with the coming of the new government conspicuous change has been effected in the education system and other development activities have been implemented. Among others who spoke on the occasion were the chief secretary Manoj Kumar and secretary of the ICA department Shailendra Singh.

Directorate of Information & Cultural Affairs - Govt. of Tripura – 10 -03-2020 e-mail:- esambad.ica@gmail.com On this occasion folders recording two years' achievements of the government, accounts of achievement of the cooperative department, a booklet of Next Three Years Action Plan etc. were released. Among other dignitaries present there included MLA Dr. Dilip Das, MLA Ratan Chakraborty, MLA Surajit Datta, MLA Mimi Majumder, social activist Dr. Manik Saha, DM Dr. Sandeep N. Mahatme, secretary of planning and coordination Apurba Roy and director of ICA Ratan Biswas. Α documentary on the last two years achievement was also screened there.

38th Agartala Book Fair concludes igniting new hopes

Igniting new hopes for the next year the 38th Agartala Book Fair concluded on March 8 at Hapania international fair ground. Last day of the 12 day-long book fair also had seen equal enthusiasm and equal crowd. The deputy chief minister Jishnu Dev Varma graced the concluding ceremony as the chief guest while Sabhadhipati of West Tripura Zilla Parishad Antara Sarkar Deb, MLA Mimi Majumder, assistant high commissioner of Bangladesh High Commission Kiriti Chakma, president of Agartala Press Club Subal Kumar Dey and other dignitaries were present as special guests. Dr. Arunoday Saha, vice chairman of Tripura State Education Council presided over the occasion.

In the concluding ceremony various awards and certificates were given away in different categories. The last day of the fair had seen sale of books worth Rs. 19.92 lakh taking the total amount of sale from all the days of the fair to Rs. 10,7, 18,643. Bir Bikram Kishore Manikya Bahadur Memorial Award went to former Hada Ocra of Jamatia community Nabakishore Jamatia; this year's Atal Behari Bajpayee Lifetime Achievement Award went to former MP Ajoy Biswas; Deendayal Upadhyay National Pandit Integrity Award went to writer Pijush Kanti Bhattacharya; Sachin Deb Barman Memorial Award went to noted Kakborok singer Prabharani Rupini; this year's Salil Krishna Memorial Award went to poet and author Nakul Roy; Kalikinkar Debbarman Memorial Award went to classical singer Bhajan Chakraborty; Tripuresh Majumder Memorial Award Kakborok went to dramatist and director Ruhi Chandra Debbarma: Bhishmadev Bhattacharya Memorial Award went to litterateur Santosh Roy; Lalan Puraskar-2020 went to singer Santosh Debbarma; Tulsi Publishing House was honoured with Radhamohan Thakur Memorial Award for being the best publisher (Bengali); in Kakborok this category of award known as Doulat Ahmed Memorial Award went to Aitorma Publications. Moumita Publications was awarded for best stall decoration followed by Nandimukh and Parul Prakashani respectively.

Directorate of Information & Cultural Affairs - Govt. of Tripura – 10 -03-2020 e-mail:- esambad.ica@gmail.com