## Government of Tripura Directorate of Information and Cultural Affairs \*\*\*\*\*

S-6730

Agartala, 23<sup>rd</sup> November, 2021

## A preparatory meeting for 50<sup>th</sup> Statehood Day celebration held yesterday

Tripura will be celebrating its 50<sup>th</sup> Statehood Day state wide in January 2022. In this regard, a preparatory meeting for 50<sup>th</sup> Statehood Day celebration was held at the Secretariat yesterday. The meeting was presided by Chief Secretary of the state Kumar Alok. He said, 50<sup>th</sup> Tripura Statehood Day is undoubtedly a glorious day for the state. After Tripura earned its statehood, so far there has been different significant achievements attained in the state. Efforts must be given so that more people know about these achievements. The Chief Secretary emphasized upon organising conferences on different welfare schemes of different departments. Numerous decisions were taken for 50<sup>th</sup> Statehood Day celebration. According to the decision made, 50<sup>th</sup> Statehood Day will be celebrated in the first week of January 2022 which will continue until 21<sup>st</sup> January. After the commencement of the program, different departments will be organising different programs until 18<sup>th</sup> January.

Secretary of Information and Cultural Affairs Dr. Prashant Kumar Goyal in the meeting said, different kinds of programmes will be organised from 19<sup>th</sup> to 21<sup>st</sup> January which includes food festival, cultural evening, local handicraft exhibition, live painting, sit and draw competitions, debate competitions, bicycle marathons, half marathons etc. He informed that the main programme on 21<sup>st</sup> January will be held in Rabindra Bhawan. Citizen and Statehood Day awards will be given away on this day. Apart from that, achievement booklet of the state, postage stamp and documentary will be released on that day. Besides this, different kinds of programmes will be organised in district and sub-divisional levels. A state level committee was formed for the successful celebration of the programme with Principal Secretary of Transport department Sriram Tarunikant as the committee Chairman. The secretary of the committee is Secretary of ICA department Dr. Prashant Kumar Goyal. Secretary Brijesh Pandey and Secretary Tanushree Debbarma are also the members of the committee.

Secretary of Transport department Kiran Gitte, Secretary of Cooperative department Abishek Chandra, Secretary of Fisheries department Dipa D. Nair, Secretary of Agriculture department Apurba Roy, Director of ICA department Ratan Biswas and other officials from different departments were present in the meeting.

\*\*\*\*