Government of Tripura Directorate of Information and Cultural Affairs

S-2509

Agartala, 21st January, 2025

<u>Tripura Statehood Day – 2025</u> Posthumous "Tripura Bibhushan" to educationist late Sushanta Kumar Chowdhury





On the occasion of Statehood Day, this year educationist Sushanta Kumar Chowdhury has been posthumously honoured with the State Civil Award called "Tripura Bibhushan". For his remarkable contribution in the field of education in the state, former Principal of MBB College late Sushanta Chowdhury was selected for this award. Chief Minister Prof. (Dr.) Manik Saha handed over this award to Shubhendu Chowdhury, son of late Sushanta Kumar Chowdhury. The award comprised a memento, sash, citation and a cheque of Rs. 5 lakh. This year five Civil Awards and ten Statehood Awards were given. Other awards included Tripura Bhushan, Sachin Debbarman Memorial State Award, Maharani Kanchanprabha Debi State Award and a State Award for major contribution to the field of science and environment conservation. Additionally, Chief Minister's Civil Service Award 2025 was given by the state administration for innovative initiative. In this category IT Department has been awarded. Social Welfare and Social Education Department came in the second position and the third award went to TRLM and Revenue department jointly.

This year as part of State Civil Award, Pandit Subal Biswas has been honoured with "Tripura Bhushan" for his great contribution in the field of music. As part of the award he received memento, citation, sash, and Rs. 2 lakh's cheque. Sachin Debbarman Memorial Award has been bestowed on noted Tabla player Jawahar Banerjee. As part of the award he has received memento, sash, citation and Rs. 1 lakh in cheque. For great works in the field of women empowerment Kumari Jyotsna Akhtar has been honored with the Maharani Kanchanprabha Debi Memorial Award and she receive a memento, sash, citation and Rs. 1 lakh in cheque. In the category of science and environmental conservation, Smita Datta Chowdhury has received a memento, sash, citation and Rs. 1 lakh in cheque. The Chief Minister handed over the awards to the recipients of these awards.

Among the 10 Statehood Awards, late Chiranjit De from Indranagar, Agartala, was honoured with Sunagarik Award posthumously. In August last, he sacrificed his life for saving other's lives in the flood. His mother Meena De received the award. Best Start-up Award went to Ripan Das from Nagichera; best award in horticulture went to Kamal Debbarma from Charilam; best award in fishery went to Sricharan Das from Kamalghat; in animal husbandry award went to Piyanki Debsharma from Pitra, Udaipur; for excellence in rural handicrafts the award went to Pinku Kumar Nath from Dasda and in the field of industry award went to Bimal Singha from Kuchainala, Kamalpur.

Best Mobile App award has been given to the IT Department. In cooperative sector for showing best performance Takarjala LAMPS has been awarded. Best education award has been given to the Principal of Pallimangal HS School, Sushanta Chakraborty. As award he received a memento, citation and Rs. 50,000 in cheque. Today on the part of the state administration, Chief Minister's Civil Service Award was also presented. This year Dhalai was declared the best performing district and the second best performing district was South Tripura. Best performing Blocks in the first, second and third position were – Salema, Boxanagar and Old Agartala. Citation and trophy were given as awards. In individual category Chief Minster's Civil Service Award (first) was given to the DM, South, Saju Wahid. He has been honoured with this award for his remarkable contribution in forming Balika Manch to prevent child marriage. The second award went to the BDO of Kumarghat Block Dr. Sudip Bhowmik for his great work in utilization of solar power in rural electrification. Third award went ot IFS Sumit Deb for his remarkable role in combined operations with the BSF, police and para-military forces in the border areas of Sonamura, Boxanagar and Kanthalia. Cheque of Rs. 25,000, citation and trophy were handed over as award. Additionally, among the non-gazetted employees, Chief Minister's Civil Service Award was given to cooperative officer Bablu Namasudra, Fishery Inspector Bisweswar Paul and ICDS Supervisor Gopa De. Rs. 10,000 cheque, trophy and certificate were handed over. Additionally Pushpal Deb, an employee of the ICA Department was awarded for making the State logo.
