Government of Tripura Directorate of Information & Cultural Affairs

S-207

Agartala,24th April,2024

<u>CEO in a press meet</u> All measures taken to ensure peaceful polling in 2-Tripura East (ST) PC



All necessary measures have been taken to ensure peaceful conduct of the elections to the 2-Tripura East (ST) PC on April 26, 2024. Everyone should take proactive responsibility to ensure peaceful elections. The Chief Electoral Officer of Tripura Puneet Agarwal, during a press meet at the election department office today, has urged all to ensure that like the first phase, the electors cast their vote in a festive mood in the second phase also.

The CEO informed, in the 2-Tripura East (ST) PC, a total of 13,96,761 voters will exercise their voting right. Out of this number, 38,245 voters are in the age group of 18-19 years. This PC has 11,012 Divyangjan voters, 4,678 service voters, and 8,942 voters are 85 plus years old. The CEO informed, in the 2-Tripura East (ST) PC, there are total 1,664 polling stations under 30 Assembly constituencies. Out of these 61 are model polling stations, 67 are women-managed polling stations, 30 are Divyangjan managed polling stations and 30 polling stations will be managed by youths. He informed, 16,260 Bru voters will be casting their votes in this Parliamentary constituency. To facilitate voting by the voters facilities like drinking water, power supply, ramp for the Divyangjan voters, toilet, and shed have been arranged in all poling centres. For the convenience of Divyangjan voters, all polling centres have been set on the ground floor, separate line or priority voting facility, wheel chair, transportation on poll day, volunteer, etc, facilities have been ensured. For the blind voters Voter Information Slip in Braille, Braille in EVM, have been arranged.

The CEO further informed, for the voting in 2-Tripura East (ST) PC there are two General Observers, two Police Observers and one Financial Observer. In addition, 1365 Micro Observers have been engaged and for maintenance of security CAPF, CRPF have been deployed. He also informed that election campaign has already ended in this PC. From 5 pm. today till the completion of voting on April 26 no political party or candidate will be allowed to hold public meeting. Restrictions have also been enforced on campaigning through cinematograph, television or any media including social media. If any political party or candidate wants to publish any advertisement through print media then they have to take prior permission or MCMC certificate. A political party worker who is a non-voter of this constituency should not remain present there. He informed, no person should conduct any exit poll and publish the same within the period between 7.00 pm. on April 19, 2024 and 6.30 pm on June 1, 2024. Voter Helpline no. has been launched for the convenience of voters. The District Helpline No. is 1950 and State Helpline No. is 1800-3450-1950. A voter will be allowed to show 11 other documents other than his voter ID as proof of identity. These are – AADHAAR Card, PAN card, Unique Disability ID Card, Service ID card, Pass Book with photo issued by bank / post office, health insurance Smart Card (M/o Labour), driving license, Passport, pension document, official identity card issued to MP/MLA/MLCs, MNREGA Job card.

At the press meet the CEO informed, webcasting has been arranged in all the polling centres for the poll day. For this purpose an additional polling worker will be assigned. Voters Assistance Booth will be created in all the polling booths. The CEO said, 18 complaints have been received on this constituency. Already 14 complaints have been addressed. Out of 51 complaints received through social media 46 complaints have been replied to.
