## Government of Tripura Directorate of Information and Cultural Affairs

<u>S-1905</u> Agartala,23 July,2025

## **Photo Release**





Chief Election Commissioner Shri Gyanesh Kumar and Election Commissioners Dr. Sukhbir Singh Sandhu and Dr. Vivek Joshi had an interaction with a delegation from Tipra Motha Party led by its General Secretary Brishaketu Debbarma and received their suggestions at Nirvachan Sadan, New Delhi today.

## **Background**

The meeting is in continuation of the interactions being held by ECI with the Presidents of various National and State Political Parties. These interactions provide for a long-felt need of constructive discussions which enable National and State Party Presidents to share their suggestions and concerns directly with the Commission. This initiative aligns with the Commission's broader vision of further strengthening the electoral process in accordance with the existing legal framework with all stakeholders.

The Commission has already met with the delegations of recognised National Political Parties including the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), led by the Party President Km. Mayawati, on May 06, 2025; the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), led by the Party President Shri. Jagat Prakash Nadda, on May 08, 2025, the General Secretary of the Communist Party of India (Marxist), Shri M.A. Baby on May 10, 2025, the Party President of the National People's Party, Shri Conrad Sangma on May 13, 2025. Aam Aadmi Party led by its National Convener, Shri Arvind Keiriwal on May 15, 2025, All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) led by the party's authorised representative Ms. Chandrima Bhattacharya on July 1, 2025, Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party led by Shri Y.V Subba Reddy, Samajwadi Party led by its Secretary General and Authorised Representative Shri Ramgopal Yadav on July 3, 2025, All India Mailis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen Party led by its National President Shri Asaduddin Owaisi on July 7, 2025, the Telugu Desam Party led by its State President Shri Palla Srinivasa Rao and received their suggestions at Nirvachan Sadan on July 15, 2025, the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam led by Shri N.R. Elango on July 17, 2025 and the Communist Party of India(Marxist-Leninist (Liberation)) led by its authorised representative Shri Sanjay Sharma on July 22, 2025.

Earlier this year, in March, a total of 4,719 all-party meetings were conducted including 40 meetings by CEOs, 800 by DEOs, and 3879 by EROs engaging over 28,000 representatives of various political parties. This information was divulged by the ECI

\*\*\*\*