## Government of Tripura Directorate of Information & Cultural Affairs \*\*\*\*\*\*

S-11154

Agartala, 31st March, 2022

## Dr. Manik Saha elected as member of Rajya Sabha from Tripura

BJP candidate Dr. Manik Saha has won the only seat of Rajya Sabha from Tripura today. On the other hand, CPI(M) candidate Bhanulal Saha lost with a margin of 25 votes. Voting for the only seat from the state for Rajya Sabha started today at 9am. Voting was done through Ballot papers at Tripura Legislative Assembly lobby. Total 55 Members of Legislative Assembly casted their vote including Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb, state cabinet members, Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the Assembly. BJP candidate Dr. Manik Saha won with 40 votes out of 55 votes and CPI(M) candidate Bhanulal Saha secured 15 votes.

\*\*\*\*\*\*